Association of Renewable Energy Agencies of States (AREAS)

Printer-friendly version

Ministry of New & Renewable Energy (MNRE) is the nodal agency at the central level for promotion of grid-connected and off-grid renewable energy in the country.  Ministry’s programmes are implemented in close coordination with State Nodal Agencies (SNAs) for renewable energy (RE). Over the period the SNAs have developed considerable knowledge and experience in planning and implementation of RE programmes. In this background it is important that SNAs interact and learn from each other’s experiences and also share their best practices and knowledge regarding technologies and schemes/programmes. 

MNRE took an initiative in this regard in consultation with SNAs, and Association of Renewable Energy Agencies of States (abbreviated as “AREAS) has been formed and registered as a society on 27 August 2014 under Society Registration Act 1860.

Registration Certificate of AREAS

Hon’ble Union Minister of state (I/C) for Power, Coal and New & Renewable Energy has kindly consented to the Patron of the Association. Secretary, MNRE is the ex-officio President of the Association. All SNAs to be the member of the Association. The first meeting of the Association was held under the chairmanship of Secretary, MNRE & President of the Association on 20 August 2014, where in Memorandum of Association and Rules & Regulations of the Association were discussed and approved. Sh. Shailendra Shukla, Chief Executive Officer, Chhattisgarh Renewable Energy Development Agency was unanimously elected as the Vice-President of Association. The elected members of the Executive Committee were SNAs from Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Jharkhand, West Bengal, Maharashtra, Gujarat, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu and Mizoram.

Memorandum of Association of AREAS
Rules & Regulations of AREAS
First Executive Committee of AREAS
Members SNAs of AREAS

Under AREAS the following three Standing Committees are constituted:

1.      Standing Committee on Technology and Resource Assessment
2.      Standing Committee on Policy and Finance
3.      Standing Committee on IT & IMS

 Constitution of Standing Committees of AREAS

Address of correspondence:

J. K. Jethani
Executive Director(I/C)
Association of Renewable Energy Agencies of State
C/o. Ministry of New & Renewable Energy
Block No. 14, CGO Complex
Lodhi Road, New Delhi-110003
Tel/Fax: 011-24362728
Email : jethani[dot]jk[at]nic[dot]in, areasdelhi[at]gmail[dot]com